Origami Love

So as I just informed all my Facebook friends… I feel like I am on fire tonight with all my blogging. I am thinking its all the Green Tea & Jasmine I have been drinking to help detox these fluids!

Anyhow. This is a blog post dedicated to a best friend of mine, Lyndsay.

Lynz moved to Canberra early this year but I know she will be back one day soon ūüôā

She has been posting me mail once a week with a small sweet letter plus one origami crane in beautiful Japanese paper – hand folded herself. Could you get any sweeter than this?!

Believe it or not, Japanese Cranes mean a lot to me. Have any of you read the book about the 1,000 paper cranes? I read it when I was studying Japanese in high school. Year 8 to be precise. I used to make them out of any scrap of paper I could find. whether the square of paper be 5cm x 5cm, I could make it. To be honest I have probably forgotten now. I think when Lynz comes back to visit in December I will make her come round and have a day of making cranes with me.

The book ‘Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes’ is about Sadako Sasaki –¬†a¬†Japanese girl who was two years old when the¬†atomic bomb was¬†dropped on August 6, 1945, near her home by Misasa Bridge in¬†Hiroshima,¬†Japan.

At the time of the explosion¬†Sadako was at home, about one mile from Ground Zero. By November 1954,¬†chicken pox had developed on her neck and behind her ears. Then in January 1955, purple spots had started to form on her legs. Subsequently, she was diagnosed with¬†leukemia, which her mother referred to as “an atom bomb disease.”¬†She was hospitalized on February 21, 1955, and given, at the most, a year to live.

Her best friend visits her in hospital and folds her a crane and then the story expresses that¬†one who folds¬†1,000 cranes will be granted a wish. I won’t go on incase you want to read it yourself. But being a big love of Japan, this was an amazing read for me.

I am thinking of attaching the cranes to a mobile which I shall make when I am well again, to keep them as long as I can to remind me of hope, love and strength.

Here is a couple of photos. One of the cranes, the other of my favorite letter so far that Lynz has written me!

An ancient Japanese legend promises that anyone who folds a¬†thousand origami cranes will be granted a wish by a crane, such as long life or recovery from illness or injury. The crane in Japan is one of the mystical or holy creatures (others include the dragon and the tortoise), and is said to live for a thousand years. In Asia, it is commonly said that folding 1000 paper origami cranes makes a person’s wish come true. This makes them popular gifts for special friends and family.

 

xoxoxo

Origami Love

Leave a Reply

