Just a rant

I just finished exercising in the front room of my house and had to jump onto my blog ASAP to vent what was going through my mind.

So, I have cancer. My main focus is to stay fit. I won’t have hair to look after, I won’t need ‘grooming’ since my eyebrows, leg hair, pubic hair, underarm/arm hair and who knows what other hair my body has – is all falling out, and I am just praying my skin stays as nice and clear with smooth makeup as it is at the moment so I don’t have to be upset about acne. Even though I cannot continue my regular hard working exercise, I will keep up with what my body can handle – everyday.

Being in hospital and having this fluid retention annoyed me today, no one else would notice it. But my tummy is carrying lots of fluid and after taking off my denim shorts this evening I had dent marks on my tummy from the metal buttons. Thats not normal for me. I couldn’t be bothered exercising to help this subside, but I made myself go for a 20 minutes of slow full body stretching, a 30 minute power walk uphill on the treadmill, and one set of weights. (I am now – post exercise – resulting in a diabetic hypo with the shakes and having to eat sugar after my hard work unfortunately).

As I thought of this, I got worked up. There are so many people out there that blame their health issues for not exercising. There are also lots of people who complain and say ‘I don’t have time for it’. You are all lying!!!

Looking fit and staying healthy is always on the top of my list. It has been since forever. Diabetes is a very difficult life disease that is improved with exercise, yet also causes many complications within the body everyday whilst processing fitness and eating (as mentioned above after todays exercising!) I still struggle with that to this day but does it stop me? No.

I have also lived with an under-active thyroid (AKA Hypothyroidism) for six years.

This means the body lacks sufficient thyroid hormone. Since the main purpose of thyroid hormone is to “run the body’s metabolism,” it is understandable that people with this condition will have symptoms associated with a slow metabolism. The first three main symptoms of this are:

  1. Fatigue
  2. Weakness
  3. Weight gain or increased difficulty losing weight

I went from my lowest of 47kgs to 60kgs in a small amount of time before I realised and asked my doctor for my thyroid to be checked. I went to the gym at least 5 days a week after work (I worked 6 days a week, sometimes 7 – weekdays till 7pm) and I still made time to go out on the weekend.

I have had times when I have put on a bit of weight here and there (haven’t we all?!) but I have always managed to get back to my normal body weight by taking my daily medication, exercising and eating/cooking healthy – most of the time!

This is where I wanted to vent. I have about two conversations worth of patience for people talking about how overweight they are, or how much they have gained and just complained on and on and on. Seriously, its not that hard. If you want to be slimmer, use your head and do what you know you should be doing. Don’t make excuses, create the body you want.

I hope I am not coming across horrible. But this is how I feel about the population.. I see large people, young and old and wonder if they are happy with how they are, or even know they are overweight? Or even if its a few kilos and you know they could look amazing if they made the time for some exercise.

I hope this has been a lil bit of inspiration to anyone out there, as you can see I am an exercise nazi. If your serious about it, do what I did. Pay off a treadmill worth $1600 over a year and a half instead of buying outfits 3 sizes bigger than you want to actually be.

VENT COMPLETE.

P.S. I listened to Kanye West’s 808 & Heartbreak album whilst exercising. It perfectly started and finished as I did with my workout. Crazy good. I love you Kanye.

Just a rant

Leave a Reply

