Turn it up!

Thats the air-conditioning I mean..

Hot flashes are becoming the death of me. All day, everyday, HELL. Now I totally understand how my mum feels when she announces ‘OH MY GOD ITS SOOO HOT GET THESE CLOTHES OFF ME!!’ whilst she is stripping down to a bare minimum. Jess and I would watch her thinking she was crazy… Well, now that person is me and it is really irritating.

Adam purchased Sex in the City season 6 – part two the other day for me as I have been wanting to watch it for so long now. From the second episode through the rest of the season, Kim Cattrall who plays Samantha Jones is diagnosed with Breast Cancer. I had seen a couple of the episodes ages ago but wanted to re-watch them. Kim’s character reminds me a lot of myself. She is open, blunt and doesn’t care what anyone thinks. So it seemed appropriate for me.

She faces the challenge head-on, playing with her look by wearing outrageous wigs, hats, and headscarves after she loses her hair to chemotherapy. In one of the final episodes, she gives a speech for a cancer benefit dinner, and receives a standing ovation for removing her wig onstage and admitting that she was suffering with hot flashes. The audience appreciated her candour and honesty, and many of the women in the audience stood up and removed their own wigs. It was so inspiring for me and I cried yet felt so happy at the same time, and also felt very proud.

The head shave

@ The Wig Shop

Afro Wig (which Jess was been wanting ME to wear!)

Pink Wig – I was going to buy one a couple of months ago and didn’t, but now I want one for fun!

Season 6 also incudes Charlotte going through IVF and being unsuccessful. It made me realise how lucky I am to have had all 8 of my fertilized eggs frozen and safe for me to possibly use within the next few years.

Excuse me whilst I disappear now because I am starting to experience my 1000000th hot flash today and need my hand held fan.

Turn it up!

Leave a Reply

