Million in the mirror

Today I came across some breast cancer related things on the Glamour Health & Fitness website.

I found this video which won a contest for the best breast cancer awareness video. This video will become the centerpiece of the Love/Avon Army of Women initiative, helping to motivate millions of women to sign up to support the cause.

Another article I came across also grabbed my attention instantly. I have a lot of friends that smoke, I used to smoke myself for years on and off but now I know  I will never touch a cigarette again after living through cancer. I have felt really uncomfortable around my friends when they have taken out smokes and lit them up next to me. I usually take a few steps back and try hold my breathe so I cannot be classified as a ‘passive smoker’, but after reading this… I think I will be taking 100 steps back!

“Have a close friend who smokes? Does he or she smoke in front of you? According to the latest research, you might want to steer clear (of the smoke, not the friendship) in the name of breast health.

A new study of more than 500 women in Mexico found that those who were exposed to secondhand smoke in their life had a three-times higher risk of developing breast cancer than women who didn’t have to breathe in a friend or family member’s cast-off smoke repeatedly.

Do you spend a lot of time with someone who smokes? Does the 2nd hand smoke bug you? <—- YES!

Past research has drawn a correlation between cigarettes and breast cancer, and this is one more reason to protect yourself. Sure, you can’t tell your friends and family members what to do, but just like they have the right to smoke, you have the right to ask them to do their dirty business somewhere else, away from your lungs, thankyouverymuch. Remember, even the tiniest bit of inhaled smoke can potentially damage your cells.”

Please.. any of you that I know, if you smoke – please try remember to not light up next to me!

Million in the mirror

Leave a Reply

