Pink

To start with I have been extremely lucky to be going on a holiday this weekend! My dad and sister arranged for Jess and I to fly to the Gold Coast on thursday night and return monday morning. I haven’t been before so I am excited to go somewhere new and just get a change of scenery for a few days. Jess has some work reasons to be going but it will only be taking up a couple of hours of the time we will actually be there. I had to contact my doctors to check if I was okay to fly/be going away and its all fine, it actually worked out great timing as I have a day off for radiation on friday because the machine has its routine service taking place! Apart from that all I had to organise was changing mondays times around so that I can make it in time when arriving back home. I also will have to wear a my compression full sleeve arm bandage on both flights to decrease my risk of lymphedema and also wear it to bed every night whilst away. I hope my room has air con thats for sure!

My chest has gradually become pinker and a lot more sensitive and itchy. Even raising my arm to a certain height feels tight and very sore. The girls today at radiotherapy noticed that it had worsened and I will be keeping a closer eye on it as of now. I have started to use the swimming pool for laps at the gym so I also have to be careful there as the chlorine may irritate my skin more, so far so good though. Tonight after my swim I had a shower in the change room and took a couple of Iphone photos to show how much it has changed since my last photo of my chest. Also another photo of my hair as Adam has announced this week ‘you have WET hair! Its WET!’ My hair is at a length now where it is kind of like a duck and can hold water! Yay.

My current radiation reaction
Hairy me!

Whilst we are on the topic of hair.. My body hair is coming back too. I guess this is good and bad? I don’t think many female like body hair right? At least I will have a fresh start back to waxing! I think I am actually looking forward to it to be honest.

Over the last week I received three bunches of flowers thank you to Clare, my mum and Adam’s parents 🙂 Clare also bought me three BRIDAL magazines and a home made cupcake. I haven’t bought any myself yet so I was pretty overwhelmed looking through them! It made me excited to start planning things when I am ready. Not long now! She also wrote me a beautiful letter which I will treasure forever.

Today an incident occurred which Jess and I had predicted may happen some day soon. As the head shave for Leukemia took place not too long ago, we thought maybe some people may think I had shaved my head for the cause. We giggled about it thinking oh no, they will feel awkward if they ask and I had to say no I didn’t.. Anyway today a lady in a store asked me if I had shaved my hair off for that reason and I said no no, I actually am being treated for cancer. I felt terrible having to answer with that because I know she would of been shocked. She was indeed and was very apologetic and couldn’t believe it because she thought I looked so healthy. What a compliment!

I purchased a book today called ‘PUGNATION’ by Jim Dratfield. Obviously a book on pugs. It has pages and pages of photos of pugs in funny situations so its appropriate for me and as I looked through it in the store I had a huge smile on my face. I thought it was definitely worth buying so any time I felt down all I had to do was flick through a few pages and smile.

Yeah, it is back to front. You get the idea.

I had a phone call from my friend Vinka today (the lovely lady who bought me my Rihanna ticket) saying she needed a favor from me, of course I said yes, yes what is it!??! She told me that she had written into the radio station 92.9 fm to tell them my story and gave them my blog. Well, they read it and I am now going in to the studio tomorrow morning for a 20 minute interview which will be aired some time this week. How crazy is that?! I am so excited and only have this wonderful lady to thank for voicing my story. It is also breast awareness day on friday so you all know, so check them boobies! I shall keep you updated when I know more and let you all know how it goes tomorrow.

Good night friends.

xo

Pink

One thought on “Pink

  1. Denise Nehls says:

    Rachel, you are truly an amazing person and I hope that you live a long and healthy life with Adam.
    I was deeply moved by your blog and think your words have been a great insight into your life at probably the hardest period you will ever have to go through.
    You are such a strong, intelligent, beautiful young woman.
    Thank you for sharing your journey

    Denise

Leave a Reply

