Raising of funds

I have some beautiful friends who have gone out of their way to organise some fundraising events for breast cancer on my accounts. Lyndsay has taken part in fundraising for the ‘Mother’s Day Classic’ event which is a fun run/walk raising money for breast cancer research. It is one of Australia’s largest charity events and takes place in seven capital cities and more than 25 metropolitan and regional locations across the country. Families, friends and colleagues come together at each event to do something fun, healthy and memorable on Mother’s Day. So far she has raised $250! If you would like to also contribute anything the link to the site is…

http://sponsor.eventarc.com/sponsor/view/32530/lyndsay-pekin

Thank you to everyone who has put something towards that. I have a few other friends who are currently organising a couple of events but it is all still in the making so I will be posting about those events very soon. Its all so exciting and I am so proud and thankful for these people to go to such effort.

Speaking of fundraising, I attended the Toy Box Lunch on friday morning with my mum. If you haven’t heard of it before, here is a little insite on it.

TOYBOX – THE LUXURY OF GIVING

TOYBOX MISSION
To light up the faces of Australia’s sick and underprivileged children.

TOYBOX VISION
To create Australia’s most successful fundraising organisation aimed at raising funds for children in need through providing a high quality communication platform that engages the Australian community.

CHARITABLE PURPOSE
To encourage and facilitate Australia’s luxury sector to support sick and disadvantaged children. With their support we strive to light up the faces and lives of as many of these less fortunate children as possible.

To do this we will purchase needy children vital equipment and therapy to conquer the challenges life has brought them, fund incredible escapes so they can enjoy welcome distractions and inspiration to make their journeys easier, fill essential grants that support their family and allow them to be by their child’s side for comfort and fund necessary research so that future generations will not face these challenges.

We will raise these funds with ToyBox’s fresh and unique fundraising models that appeal to the luxury sector, including distinctive balls and fundraising events, exclusive donation drives by our Ambassador, Board and Committee members and the support we receive from 100% of the profits from Box Magazine subscription sales. ToyBox plans to excite its supporters with a fresh look at charity fundraising events, raise significant money and direct these funds to specific grants to give Australia’s sick and disadvantaged children a very bright present and future.

So I felt like I was helping out and doing my bit by taking part in this event for the children and buying raffle tickets etc. to raise more money.

Friday afternoon I decided it was time to get some more vitamins. I went into a health food shop and purchased Biotin. Thanks Emily for recommending this as Biotin is not absorbed well through the skin. It is a hair supplement which will aid my eyelashes, eyebrows and hair on my hair to grow back stronger and faster. I have been taking Hair, Skin and Nails for a while but that only has 1.3mg of Biotin, where as Biotin ITSELF has 150mg. Yeah – Go figure. I am taking both. I read up on Biotin too, only to find even more reasons to be taking it…

‘Diabetics may also benefit from biotin supplementation. In both insulin-dependent and non-insulin-dependent diabetics, supplementation with biotin can improve blood sugar control and help lower fasting blood glucose levels, in some studies the reduction in fasting glucose exceeded 50 percent. Biotin can also play a role in preventing the neuropathy often associated with diabetes, reducing both the numbness and tingling associated with poor glucose control.’

I also wanted some kind of detox. I feel as if my body needs to be cleansed after all those harsh chemo drugs have been floating through my system. I got some ‘EnduraCell’ which is 100% pure whole broccoli sprout functional food powder. I like this one as it is all natural. It tastes and absolutely foul but I found a low sugar orange juice which I can have it in each day which doesn’t make it too horrible.

Next was odorless fish oil capsules. Unfortunately, the benefits I need these for mean I have to take NINE a day. I refuse to take the liquid as I have tried that before and couldn’t stomach it. Along with all my other meds and vitamins this is crazy. But I need to get my health better than average because I don’t believe that I deserve to ever get sick again. I not only need these capsules for my hair, skin and nails but more so joint funtioning/lubrication. I now not only have trigger thumb in one hand but the second thumb is starting to play up. I cannot sms properly, pick anything up, cannot open cans of drink or jars of spreads/foods. Do you realise how much you need your thumbs? I bet you never thought of that before! I have already had the cortizone injection last year to try fix it, which it did temporarily but it has come back worse. It feels like you are dislocating your thumbs every time you use them and you have to snap them back in place. Its very, very painful and I am booked in to discuss surgery next month.

My chest wall has rapidly lost its red colour and has turned into a tan. Though there is one area, in the middle next to my other breast that went very, very, verrrry red. It also has been peeling, blistered and now scabby, yellowish and extremely sensitive even against my t-shirts as it is healing.

Current image of my chest

I shall upload a photo for you all tomorrow of how my hair is going. Its thickened up heaps over the past week and my eyebrows have started to get really stubbly, so it looks like they will be thickening up very soon! Yay!

On Saturday morning, Adam woke up with a small rash on his lower left tummy. We didn’t think much of it but kept our eyes on it incase it spread or got worse. By sunday it had become quite risen and itchy and to be honest didn’t look too good at all, so I said over and over again to pleaaase go to a doctor ASAP. He agreed and went to an after hours clinic near the hospital and was told he had Shingles. GREAT! When is there GOOD health news for us? Oh thats right, NEVER. He was very lucky to have gone to the doctor when he did as it had been in his body for 48 hours and once you get past 72 hours, its too late to treat with anti-viral medication. He has had flu-ish symptoms over the past week which is also apart of the whole virus. It is now at its worst and extremely itchy, sore and uncomfortable so I am taking good care of him. My poor baby! We learnt our lesson for going straight to the doctor with my lump in my breast so we are now fully on top of things when it comes to health. ANY changes in your body, just go get it checked. I think this will stick to us for life now!

Raising of funds

One thought on “Raising of funds

Leave a Reply

