Bazookas!

Wow, hello again. Once again, its been quite some time since I have updated. Like, a LONG time.

There are a few highlights to mention from the past couple of weeks.

Firstly, Adam and I will be celebrating our Engagement party this saturday night. Its been pretty crazy organising it all and it felt like it was forever away but the time has now come to celebrate. I don’t mean to sound soppy and lame, because I am most definitely not that kind of person, but it has felt quite emotional this week. The fact that we have been engaged now for 11 months and not that the excitement of that has been ‘pushed aside’ but in a way, it really was put on hold to celebrate because of the circumstances at the time. All through the end of last year and earlier this year it felt like I was never going to feel normal again. The thought of how healthy my body was and the state it was in through my early stages of chemotherapy was literally mind blowing. Finally, I can say that my body is feeling more and more normal every week. Also.. today was chemo cycle # 14, I spent most of the day at the hospital as each appointment was so delayed. One of them being 2.5 hours late! Anyway, I felt a little bit sad to think that the week of my engagement party I was dealing with cancer treatment. Its little thoughts like that, that trigger my emotions.

Last week I finally booked an appointment at Breast Aware WA to visit the ladies there in regards to a prosthesis. I went in on friday morning and ended up coming out with some sweet new titties! We discussed a few options, I could of got a prothesis for my left side to match my right side, being a 10A bra size. My other option was to have a ‘boost’ on the right side and go up to a full C cup size which seemed like the better option seeing as that is the size I am thinking of going for when it comes to my reconstruction surgery later this year. This way I can get used my new size and decide if thats what I am happy with. After trying on many different sizes/shapes of fillers.. we finally found the perfect fit.

10A - 10C!

For the past two weeks I have been working casually to help out my dad & brother at their office. Its actually been really refreshing to have something to wake up early for, get ready and be in a workplace. I was worried to get back into a job because I felt like I wasn’t really ready and with my big recon operation coming up soon.. I just wasn’t sure. I was wrong. I have never been happier to help people and deal with the ups and downs of being at work. I think this positivity has brought on more luck, as I was recommended for another job this week, went to the interview and ended up with two jobs at the same place. I won’t go into too much detail of what it is yet as one of the jobs starts monday as a casual temp for three weeks and the other job starts just after that, full time as a graphic designer. Good things come to those who wait! (thank you to that friend who recommended me, you know who you are!)

Another exciting thing to mention, is that I will be doing some public speaking for a breast cancer event in September. I will not post anything else on this subject either as I have not been briefed with the specifications for this yet. But its exciting and I am looking forward to getting up and talking to several hundred people about it. I will also post the flyer for this event when I know it has actually been completely approved and ready to go!

Today, I also had my FIRST hair cut since my hair has grown back from treatment. It was so crazy sitting in front of the mirror thinking wow, a HAIR cut? It had grown pretty out of control and I was rocking a bit of a fluffy mullet. Here is some photos of the new ‘do’ thanks to the lovely Bee from Peggy Sue’s. She is fantastic. Such a genuine girl, who also didn’t charge me for my hair cut and also GAVE me $100 to go by something nice for myself. You don’t meet anyone that amazing these days do you? $100.. to go buy myself something nice?!?! I am still in shock. All she wanted in return was me to send her a photo of what I buy myself. What a doll.

Front
Back & Side

This evening I had a phone call from my GP informing me that my full blood count from yesterday came back with altered Thyroid results (compared to my normal ones). My thyroid has been under active (Hypothyroidism) for about six years now, which I take tablets for every day for the rest of my life. Apparently, my results came back with an OVERactive thyroid?! This results in anxiety & weight-loss. Maybe this could even explain my crazy low blood pressure result yesterday which came in at 80/43 (normal is known to be 120/80). My nurse was pretty concerned and kind of joked by saying ‘I think thats supposed to mean your actually dead’ It was funny at the time.. I felt fine though I normally have quite a low blood pressure reading so I guess I am used to feeling light headed and dizzy all day every day.

So, I am looking forward to tomorrow not only for our celebration, but my sister and her boyfriend also are currently flying home from LA after Jess being away for two months. I am just so happy at the moment with the way life is coming back together. I am looking forward to every single day ahead of me because they are all going to be so amazing.

Bazookas!

2 thoughts on “Bazookas!

  1. Hi. I stumbled upon your blog after doing a general search. I read your most recent post and was instantly drawn into your story. Not only is your writing style witty, but I love the outlook you have on life given the cards you’ve been dealt.

    I can’t sit here and tell you that I know the pain you’ve experienced, because I haven’t. However, what I can tell you is that the sole purpose in life is to be as happy as possible and enjoy every day the best you can. Good luck with your public speech as well. If you could speak to millions via your blog, then a couple hundred in person shouldn’t be a problem.

    With that said, congrats on your engagement and hope you enjoy your party. I wish you (and your husband-to-be, of course) all the best.

    1. Oh wow, thank you so much for your lovely comment. I appreciate that you even bothered writing to me when you could of just read it and left it. thanks again very, very much. My out look on life was never too much different to what it is now though I am even more inspired everyday I live and waking up and being able to start doing the things I used to do again is such a gift. The engagement party was absolutely unreal. I shall be posting some photos as soon as I get my hands on them. stay tuned! xo

Leave a Reply

